THE SCHOOL BOARD OF ESCAMBIA COUNTY, FLORIDA

MINUTES, NOVEMBER 20, 2012

The School Board of Escambia County, Florida, convened an Installation Ceremony at 5:00 p.m., in Room 160, at the J.E. Hall Educational Services Center, 30 East Texar Drive, Pensacola, Florida, with the following present:

School Board Members:	Mr. Jeff Bergosh, District I Mr. Gerald W. Boone, District II Mrs. Linda Moultrie, District III Mrs. Patricia Hightower, District IV Mr. Bill Slayton, District V
School Board General Counsel:	Mrs. Donna Session Waters

Superintendent of Schools: Mr. Malcolm Thomas

Meeting was advertised in the Pensacola News Journal on October 26, 2012 – Legal No. 1580872

I. WELCOME/CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Bill Slayton, School Board Member, District V, welcomed the assembly.

II. INVOCATION & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Dr. Dale Patterson, Pastor of East Brent Baptist Church, delivered the invocation. Benjamin Robinson and his sister Emily Robinson led the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag.

III. INSTALLATION & REMARKS

Mrs. Patricia Hightower was installed as School Board Member, District IV; oath of office was administered by her husband, Mr. Jimmy Hightower.

Mr. Bill Slayton was installed as School Board Member, District V; oath of office was administered by Dr. Dale Patterson, Pastor of East Brent Baptist Church.

Mr. Malcolm Thomas was installed as Superintendent of Schools; oath of office was administered by his wife, Mrs. Sandra Thomas.

IV. ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

(Pursuant to Florida Statutes, Section 1001.371)

The Superintendent called the Organizational Meeting to order at 5:15 p.m. On motion by Mrs. Hightower, second by Mr. Bergosh, adoption of the agenda was unanimously approved.

A. Election of Chairman for 2012-2013

Mr. Boone nominated Mr. Jeff Bergosh, School Board Member for District I, to serve as Chairman for 2012-2013. There being no further nominations, the Superintendent called for the vote. The nomination of Mr. Bergosh to serve as Chairman for 2012-2013 carried unanimously. B. Election of Vice Chairman for 2012-2013

Mr. Bergosh nominated Mrs. Linda Moultrie, School Board Member for District III, to serve as Vice Chairman for 2012-2013. There being no further nominations, the Superintendent called for the vote. The nomination of Mrs. Moultrie to serve as Vice Chairman for 2012-2013 carried unanimously.

C. Designation of Date, Time, and Location of Regular Monthly Workshop and Meeting

Motion was made by Mr. Bergosh and seconded by Mrs. Moultrie, to maintain the current schedule of monthly workshops and meetings, with:

- *Regular Meetings to be held on the third Tuesday of each month, beginning at 5:30 p.m.;*
- Special Workshops (for the purpose of open discussion and presentations) to be held on the Thursday, prior to the Regular Meeting, beginning at 3:00 p.m.; and
- Regular Workshops to be held on the Friday prior to the Regular Meeting, beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Unless otherwise advertised, each monthly workshop and meeting would be held in Room 160, at the J.E. Hall Educational Services Center.

Motion to maintain the current schedule of monthly workshops and meetings carried unanimously.

D. Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion was made by Mr. Slayton and seconded by Mr. Bergosh, to appoint the School Board General Counsel, Mrs. Donna Sessions Waters, as Parliamentarian. Motion carried unanimously.

E. Selection of Parliamentary Procedure

Motion was made by Mrs. Moultrie, seconded by Mr. Slayton, to designate the latest version of *Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised* as the parliamentary procedure to be followed for the conduct of official business of the School Board. Motion was approved unanimously.

V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the Organizational Meeting was adjourned at 5:20 p.m.

Attest:

Approved:

Superintendent

Chair